Review of the PowerScore LSAT Prep Course Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
David44357

New

Review of the PowerScore LSAT Prep Course

Post by David44357 » Sun Apr 03, 2016 10:53 pm

I am a 0L student recently admitted to UNC School of Law. This is a review of the LSAT prep course from PowerScore that I took earlier this year to prepare for the February LSAT. My score increased from 158 before the PowerScore class to 168. The result was that I got into the school I wanted and was awarded a scholarship that will give me a 30x ROI from the financial investment I made in the PowerScore course. This review is based on my own personal experiences and naturally different people have different experiences and preferences regarding LSAT preparation.

In my case I was hesitant to take a course at first, because most people online seemed to be advocating for self-study, said LSAT was the test you couldn't study for, etc. Like most students I am a cheapskate that is not eager to part with my money. I had skimmed books on the LSAT from the library, read online guides, watched YouTube videos from actual prep courses, and took practice tests, but my score was holding steady at 158 on two practice tests and the actual. This wasn't high enough to get into the school I wanted.

I signed up for the online-only version of the PowerScore prep course, because it was cheaper, more flexible from a scheduling perspective, and the sales rep said both online and in-person students have the same average increase in their LSAT score.