Hands up if you're working at a law firm right now...

carasrook

Hands up if you're working at a law firm right now...

Postby carasrook » Mon Feb 29, 2016 12:04 pm

Hey all -

I've noticed a lot of people saying they currently work at a law firm while they're studying for the LSAT. Since we're all in similar boats, I'm curious to hear other people's stories.

I graduated from undergrad in June and have been working in biglaw ever since (basically as an admin). My plan was to see how I like it and determine if I should take the LSAT/go to law school after that. Turns out, I hate it, but only because the work I do is boring and not challenging. Therefore, I'm takin the LSAT.

I manage to study during my lunch break and occasionally if I'm having a slow day, doing drills at work. Most of my study is after work/on weekends.

Calling all paralegals, legal assistants, administrative assistants, etc! What's it like working at a law firm and studying for the LSAT? How's it going?

Sean_33

Re: Hands up if you're working at a law firm right now...

Postby Sean_33 » Mon Feb 29, 2016 2:06 pm

Last edited by Sean_33 on Thu Mar 30, 2017 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TrunksFan1

Postby TrunksFan1 » Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:34 pm

Hey everyone. What do you think is the best way to go about securing a paralegal position at a law firm. I'm definitely not going to law school straight through and would like to gain work experience.

Brentwood

Postby Brentwood » Tue Mar 08, 2016 11:06 pm

TrunksFan1 wrote:Hey everyone. What do you think is the best way to go about securing a paralegal position at a law firm. I'm definitely not going to law school straight through and would like to gain work experience.

I know some firms will recruit directly from schools, though your best bet is most likely reaching out to HR people and inquiring about openings. I landed a good number of paralegal interviews that way.

carasrook wrote: