Deleted Post Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
PJam1989

New

Deleted Post

Post by PJam1989 » Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:35 pm

Deleted Post
Last edited by PJam1989 on Fri Mar 04, 2016 11:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trqdor

New

Re: Strengthen Weaken Help

Post by trqdor » Tue Sep 01, 2015 11:31 pm

can't say that i'm a pro at these yet either, but i always keep three/four things in mind:

1) how do i strengthen/weaken the CONNECTION between the premise and the conclusion? to do this, you must know 100% what the argument is. how does the premise support the conclusion? what can i do to the premise to strengthen/weaken the argument that it claims to make?

2) (particularly with harder questions) the right answer does not have to be (and is often not) a slam dunk. meaning, the right answer won't prove that the argument is true/false. rather, it will just make it more/less believable and credible.

3) you are NOT trying to strengthen/weaken the CONCLUSION. the conclusion is the conclusion. you can't touch that ish. you can only play with the support/assumptions/evidence that LEAD to the conclusion. this is particularly difficult if you're looking for that slam dunk type of answer because the testmakers will put something you perceive as a slam dunk in one of the incorrect answer choices.

4) when the question stem throws an EXCEPT in there, it always just gets my mind all jumbled up. but you gotta remind yourself to maintain focus on the CONNECTION between the premise and conclusion. which one of these answers does NOT strengthen/weaken the CONNECTION the argument relies on?

i think these questions are tough because you have to have a more firm understanding of the argument. for flaw questions, it's one step to the conclusion. but for strengthen/weaken and also assumptions, you not only have to find the flaw, but you have to know what to do about it.

redfred22

New

Post by redfred22 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 10:22 am