How Quickly Should My Scores Improve?

RamTitan

How Quickly Should My Scores Improve?

Postby RamTitan » Tue Jun 23, 2015 7:42 pm

So, my scores are super low right now:

Diagnostic Test (Early May) - 146
Then, I barely studied over the next two weeks (maybe 10-15 hours total); second test was 157
Then, I barely studied over the next two weeks (maybe less than 10 hours total); third test was 154
Then, I studied more over the next week (10-15 hours); fourth test was 156
Then, I studied exactly 10.5 hours over the next 5 days; fifth test was 154

If I'm trying to get my scores into the 165-170 range by the October LSAT, am I on track, or are these pretty low to get into that range? Since the beginning of last week (so about 1.5 weeks) I have been studying 3 hours a day for 6 days a week. If I maintain that schedule until September, and then taper off during that month (I'll be starting full-time employment during that month), will that schedule be enough to get me to where I want to be by October?

Lawdood

Re: How Quickly Should My Scores Improve?

Postby Lawdood » Tue Jun 23, 2015 7:46 pm

bump

Oskosh

Postby Oskosh » Tue Jun 23, 2015 7:47 pm

In my opinion, you should see an increase in your score from your first, cold diagnostic in about two week's time. That gives you the opportunity to be exposed to the different types of questions, to some logic games, etc. Then, the gains in your score aren't nearly as dramatic, but that is what sets the best test takers apart (being able to get THOSE five questions right).

There is no science to the time it should take for your score to reflect the studying you've been doing. If you are studying right and consistently, you should be seeing a score increase.

Focus on mastering the skill you are practicing (i.e, weaken questions), and not on the score you are getting on your practice tests. Then, you can move on to timed practices and timed tests, where you will focus on the nuances of the questions you are getting wrong.