Arguments for retaking LSAT

crunchy

Arguments for retaking LSAT

Postby crunchy » Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:50 pm

Long story short(ish), I took the October 2014 LSAT, did not study as hard as I could have because of work, school, and bad judgment, and scored a 162. In my parents' world, this is an amazing score but where we live and they practice it is common for McGeorge and Cooley grads to get hired so... I don't intend to move back to my hometown and work for my parents even if that's what they want.

After coming to TLS and discovering that a 162 is what most of you guys score in your sleep, I've decided to delay school for a year, retake the LSAT, and earn extra money working in the interim. Here's the problem, since I graduated in fall 2014, I moved home so all my work money could go to savings for law school. My parents are paying tuition and rent all three years and I'm covering the rest. I just decided this week to retake in June and do an in person course this time because I think it will help with motivation. My parents are not pleased.

For a list of where I got accepted, waitlisted, and rejected please see my profile. Illinois offered me 40k per year (out of state) and Washington and Lee and Richmond each offered me 30k per year (there are more offers but those were the ones I was considering). I know my GPA is bad but my addendum covers that (stage 4 cancer) but honestly I was still a pretty average B/B+ student due to laziness. I think if I score at least a 167 I can get into better schools or at least get more money for some of the lower tier 1 schools I've gotten into.

Given the right arguments, my parents will support the retake and extra year before starting. What should I say to convince them? Please, give me all the ammo I need to crush any opposition from my parents.

lurkerlarry

Re: Arguments for retaking LSAT

Postby lurkerlarry » Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:59 pm

hairbear7

Postby hairbear7 » Sat Mar 28, 2015 10:21 pm