Preparing for the June 2016 LSAT

Jetlife

Preparing for the June 2016 LSAT

Postby Jetlife » Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:32 pm

Hey guys, I'm a current sophomore with aspirations of going to law school. Since around the beginning of this semester, I've been starting to think a lot about the law school application process. I've done some research, and have come to the conclusion that I will only go to law school if I get accepted into a top 20 law school. At the top of my list are Columbia/NYU and Cornell. My goal after law school is big law. Going into this semester, I have a lower 3.7ish GPA, with the potential of raising that to the mid 3.8s by the end of spring semester of junior year as long as I remain consistent this semester and diligent the following two semesters. I understand that that will put my GPA in a good spot for the top three law schools that I have in mind, so what I'm starting to turn my attention to is the LSAT.

I understand that I'm over a year out from my target LSAT date, which I imagine is much longer than most test-takers spend to prepare. However, I want to ensure that I get as much possible studying in as possible to reach my maximum potential. After reading blogs, articles, and forum posts on the internet, the idea that I got was that most people study around 3-4 months, with some studying longer. I came across one blog by a guy who stated he got a 180, explaining that if your GPA is generally weighed less than the LSAT despite it representing 3-4 years of your undergraduate studies, you'd be stupid not to dedicate at least a year to the LSAT. This leads me to a few questions I have for you guys out here:

1. Has anyone here started prepping for the LSAT a year or more in advance?

2. How did it go? Did you achieve your target score?

3. Would you do anything differently?