Drilling and Tracking Progress

SweetTort

Drilling and Tracking Progress

Postby SweetTort » Tue Dec 02, 2014 7:37 pm

So, I'm new to all of this, and I apologize if this thread is redundant.

As far as drilling goes, how do you most effectively drill (how many questions, which questions, etc.) while using a prep book like Manhattan or PS LG Bible?

Second, how do you keep track of which questions you did while drilling, your scores, etc?

hillz

Re: Drilling and Tracking Progress

Postby hillz » Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:48 pm

I worked through the Bibles and then started drilling afterwards using the Cambridge packets sorted by type. I mostly worked through the questions in order and would mark which ones I had done. I used PTs to identify which question types I had the most trouble with but I still tried to hit all of the question types; I just did less work on the types that came more naturally to me. I typically tried to do at least 15-20 questions per day, even on days when I was focusing more on other sections.

I created a schedule on Google Docs before I started studying and tried to stick to that as best as I could. Having a schedule really helped me stay on track and not skimp on prepping. I also had another Google Doc where I kept track of the questions I had missed so that I could go back and review later.

ETA: I kept track of my PT scores using LsatQA.

SweetTort

Postby SweetTort » Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:02 pm

hillz wrote:I worked through the Bibles and then started drilling afterwards using the Cambridge packets sorted by type. I mostly worked through the questions in order and would mark which ones I had done. I used PTs to identify which question types I had the most trouble with but I still tried to hit all of the question types; I just did less work on the types that came more naturally to me. I typically tried to do at least 15-20 questions per day, even on days when I was focusing more on other sections.