Really Frustrated

MA9

Really Frustrated

Postby MA9 » Sat Nov 29, 2014 2:50 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping to get some advice or hear from someone that went through a similar experience.

I've been studying for the LSAT for a solid three months now and I've been averaging about 15-20hrs a week of studying. I'm registered to take the December LSAT in one week and I'm just not where I need to be. I've taken full length practice tests and cannot break out of the 151-154 range. I feel like I've put so much time into prep and feel really discouraged.

My biggest issue is with timing. I've taken the practice tests un-timed and I do quite well. I'm feeling very down about things because I have a 3.8 gpa and I know that I'm an intelligent person who would excel in law school.

I don't want to cancel the LSAT coming up in one week because it will be my first attempt. If I postpone and wait until February without a December score I don't want prospective schools to think I procrastinated and didn't take things seriously with my only attempt being in February. I also have serious reservations about taking the February LSAT in general because once scores are administered it wont be until March which is awfully close, and sometimes beyond, many of the school's deadlines for the fall 2015 year.

A few schools that I'm hoping for are Temple, Cincinnati, MSU, and Arizona.

Thanks,

-M

CardozoLaw09

Re: Really Frustrated

Postby CardozoLaw09 » Sat Nov 29, 2014 2:52 pm

Drill some more to better your timing. Focus on accuracy instead of speed, and then the speed will come naturally. Also isolate the reasons you think you're getting questions wrong and then refine your approach accordingly ie) figure out 1. why you got the question wrong 2. what was your process on that question 3. how would you change your process to get the right answer next time

JackelJ

Postby JackelJ » Sat Nov 29, 2014 3:13 pm