February LSAT - Helpful? (3.5, 162)

PublicInterest2018

February LSAT - Helpful? (3.5, 162)

Postby PublicInterest2018 » Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:26 am

Hi everyone. I am looking for some advice on whether or not to take the February LSAT this year. Here is my situation:

I am looking to begin law school in 2015. My undergrad GPA is around a 3.5 and I have an LSAT score of 162. I have about 3 years of work experience, and will have an M.S. before beginning law school (current 4.0 in grad program).

When I first took the LSAT (last Feb) I did it basically on a whim after only 3 practice tests. I realize now that was a mistake, but didn't really realize that a 162 wasn't that great of a score until after I really started applications. I am not ready or registered for December, so that is out of the question, but I am weighing whether or not to retake in February.

I have already submitted my applications, but as I've been looking more at the acceptance rates, I am thinking I could end up one or more wait lists for Northwestern, University of Virginia, University of Michigan, Cornell, Texas, etc. I am already accepted into Northeastern with a full tuition scholarship, so I have that to fall back on. Details here: http://lawschoolnumbers.com/PublicInterest2018

So my questions...

1) Will schools I have already completed an application for know if I register for the Feb LSAT and then hold my application until getting the score? (naturally placing me at a huge disadvantage)

2) Would an increased February LSAT score actually help with getting off of a wait list? Or negotiate additional scholarships?

3) If you were me, would you retake with about 2 months of serious studying/prep course?

Clemenceau

Re: February LSAT - Helpful? (3.5, 162)

Postby Clemenceau » Fri Nov 28, 2014 10:46 am

If I were you I would withdraw all my apps now. Your current numbers won't even get you on the waitlists at the schools you mentioned; you will just get rejected.