When is the best time to start PTing under timed conditions?

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
churrochi

New

When is the best time to start PTing under timed conditions?

Postby churrochi » Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:03 pm

So I'm studying for a retake in September, and I've just finished Mike's LSAT Trainer. For the rest of the time until the LSAT, I'm going to be spending my time taking PTs (2-3/week), drilling question types and games I have trouble with, and working through the Powerscore LGB and LRB.

I took PT 57 today and noticed a significant difference in accuracy in the LR section. When I put myself under time constraints, I only scored a 19/26. When I didn't time myself, I got a 24/25. Should I continue simulating test conditions with my PTs or take a few PTs first to truly assess weaknesses, and then eventually work with timing constraints? (FWIW, in the LR section I did better in, I took ~40 minutes to finish.)

(Slightly OT: the time constraint also stresses me out a LOT so when I encounter Parallel Flaw questions or other question types I'm not good at, I have the tendency to freak out and just stare at the dwindling time on my timer...also the third logic game just got me into a bad funk which I think affected my score.)

(Also open to other recommended ways to supplement my studying.)

Thank you!

bombaysippin

Gold

Re: When is the best time to start PTing under timed conditions?

Postby bombaysippin » Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:09 pm

Work on understanding questions better. Then when you feel ready, time yourself.

Since you're retaking, you probably already went through a number of PTs...(hopefully assuming). If you have any fresh ones, I'd save those for later down the road when you're more comfortable with the time constraint and question types.

fixnroll

New

Postby fixnroll » Thu Jul 17, 2014 10:04 pm

churrochi wrote:I'm going to be ... working through the Powerscore LGB and LRB.