Hi - I took my first LSAT prep and got a 171.

jojosmith

Hi - I took my first LSAT prep and got a 171.

Postby jojosmith » Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:20 am

How much improvement I can expect to get I am taking a full Preparation course . My GPA is 3.79 and I am studying in chemical engineering.

HanShotFirst

Re: Hi - I took my first LSAT prep and got a 171.

Postby HanShotFirst » Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:38 am

A course won't help you at all. They're geared toward people scoring below 150. Self study or hire a private tutor.

a.sleepyhead

Postby a.sleepyhead » Tue Feb 18, 2014 4:08 am

A private tutor (or even just studying off books) might be more useful - I'd just advise taking one more practice test to make sure that your scores are reasonably consistent.

ArtistOfManliness

Postby ArtistOfManliness » Tue Feb 18, 2014 4:22 am

Practice on your own. Determine if you need a tutor at all, odds are you shouldn't.

dowu

Postby dowu » Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:40 am

Did u take it under the strict timing conditions?

manu6926

Postby manu6926 » Tue Feb 18, 2014 6:15 am

Last edited by manu6926 on Sun May 25, 2014 10:38 am, edited 2 times in total.

CocoSunshine

Postby CocoSunshine » Tue Feb 18, 2014 6:35 am

jy9626 wrote: You must be an absolute genius and thus have nothing to worry about if you took it the first time under strictly timed conditions and got a 171.

And if you barely did any book work or drilling before it.

Pneumonia

Postby Pneumonia » Tue Feb 18, 2014 8:03 am

If you took it untimed or otherwise under non-standard test conditions then you need to do another one, timed. The purpose will just be to get an actual starting point for yourself. 171 is killer even if you took it untimed btw. I don't think you'll need a course or a tutor either way.

withoutapaddle

Postby withoutapaddle » Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:20 am

Getting a 171 doesn't mean someone is a genius/ It means they have good reasoning and reading ability