The McGruff Method: A Few Lessons From My Battle to 180 Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
McGruff

Bronze

The McGruff Method: A Few Lessons From My Battle to 180

Post by McGruff » Mon Feb 10, 2014 11:42 am

Contents:
1. About Me
2. Getting Started, pt.1: get pumped
3. Getting Started, pt.2: jump in
4. PHASE I: Learn the general skills without PTing
-Logic Games
-Logical Reasoning
-Reading Comprehension
5. PHASE II: Learning to Perform
6. The most important part of your prep: Review.
7. Resources

Disclaimer: I'm a rambly writer and can easily get off-script so I apologize in advance for long-windedness. I’d also like to say upfront that I don't think I'm exceptionally bright or a naturally good LSAT-taker. I'm writing this guide because I think my experience can benefit others and, if I thought I was exceptional, there'd be little point in writing a guide as my experience would, for most test-takers, be irrelevant. I'm confident that anyone who works smart and hard for long enough will see more improvement than they might think is possible, and I think my method might help some future test-takers in finding their own road to improvement, which is ultimately the goal of all training.

1. About Me
I started studying for the LSAT in February of 2013, intending to take the test that June. My LSAC GPA was/is pretty abysmal, so early on in my prep I decided my target score was a 180. This ultimately meant delaying and taking in October instead of June, since I wasn’t yet in my target range. I took the test in October, got a 180, and now that I have slightly more time on my hands, I want to give back to the TLS community that helped me out so much by making an in-depth description of how I prepared. I really hope it helps you on your own path to LSAT domination, any questions feel free to PM or post here, etc.