173 - worth it to retake?

furrrman

173 - worth it to retake?

Postby furrrman » Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:56 pm

I'm just wondering if there's anybody in a similar situation who found that they greatly improved on a retake. This was my first attempt, and I was (and still am) very happy with my score. Thing is, I've been reading around here that you should be doing around 30-40 PTs, whereas I did only 16, which I thought was a lot (hah). This isn't to say I slacked, I studied hard for three months and did a lot of drilling. That said, I always felt like I could have done a little better, that there was just some wall I just needed to break through and then I'd be in the 175+ range. My last ten or so PTs were all in the 169-172 range (I hit 174 once but that seemed like an outlier). So I definitely stayed on the high end of my range, which I was happy about, but now I'm left wondering what a new study regime/retake might bring.

Just looking for some general advice and wisdom.
Quick background: GPA is 3.6x (low end), so I need all the lsat points I can get. Already put out applications this cycle, and gotten a few acceptances while still waiting on the bulk of them. Retake would be for the chance for more $$ and better schools.

Right now I'm thinking try for the June lsat. If I don't do markedly better I'll stick with what I've got. If I do do better, then perhaps sit out and reapply.

All advice welcome, thanks.

BerkeleyMan5

Re: 173 - worth it to retake?

Postby BerkeleyMan5 » Sun Feb 09, 2014 11:00 pm

Last edited by BerkeleyMan5 on Wed May 21, 2014 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jeffort

Postby Jeffort » Sun Feb 09, 2014 11:08 pm

Some people that re-take after a 170s range score have scored higher and others haven't, but that information isn't really relevant to the issue of whether or not it's worth it to try.