Prep Test Plateau

Prep Test Plateau

Postby knicker » Thu Jan 23, 2014 11:37 pm

There are some previous threads on plateaus but I've tried a decent chunk of that advice, and they were short threads. Figured I'd try again.

I started studying in mid-December. I spent about a week going through LSAT superprep and a bit through the bibles. No cold diagnostic. My first PT I got a 172. I've taken 8 total PTs so far, with 7 scores of either 171 or 172 (one outlier, 3 days after quitting smoking). All of these PTs are older tests (scattered in the #7-30 range). All PTs timed under test conditions with an experiment section.

My overall scores have been really consistent, and proportions of misses from each section are also consistent. Typically, I miss 4-5 on logic games, 2-3 on LR, and 2-3 on RC. These scores are also consistent with drills on individual sections. I track all of the LR and RC question types that I miss, but there don't seem to be any major trends.

My study strategy so far has been to take a drill section and then carefully go over any and all questions that troubled me. I use the sage videos a lot for logic games. I type up difficult LR questions and review them again later. I take LGs that I've already worked through and re-do them a few days later to improve speed.

I'm planning on June.

At risk of getting TL;DR'd, here are some specific questions:

-Any other study strategies I should be using?
-Any specific materials that are particularly useful for knocking out those last few right answers?
-Am I just being impatient? Should I wait until I'm 12-15 PTs in before worrying about using the wrong strategy?

Re: Prep Test Plateau

Postby papercut » Fri Jan 24, 2014 2:32 am

Your biggest chance for improvement is going to be in LG.