Feeling discouraged. Advise needed, please.

Pepperdine2014

Feeling discouraged. Advise needed, please.

Postby Pepperdine2014 » Mon Dec 16, 2013 10:13 pm

Hi everyone,

I started studying in February 2012 and plan to take the February 2013 exam. I read all three Powerscore books first, then focused on individual game types, then focused on individual LR question types. I started taking full exams in mid November. The exams are timed but I go over the time limit. I have taken 6 exams thus far; Preptest A-C, 50, 52, and 55. My scores are 155, 152, 160, 158, 153 and 153, respectively.

My goal is to obtain a 165+ on the actual exam. I am feeling very discouraged right now...I have studied so hard for a while now and my test results are a joke. It has been my dream to attend Pepperdine for eight years but I would not waste my time applying with these scores...they're such a joke.

Can anyone provide some advice? I am willing to change my study strategy but I do not know how to because I think I have done all that I can at this point.

Feeling.Very.Discouraged :(

blackbirdfly

Re: Feeling discouraged. Advise needed, please.

Postby blackbirdfly » Mon Dec 16, 2013 10:26 pm

How do you review your tests after you take them? What is your process?

Don't feel too discouraged. Your goal is attainable!!

retaking23

Postby retaking23 » Mon Dec 16, 2013 10:41 pm

Review those exams like a hawk. Review every single word of every single question. Review exactly why the right answer is right and why the wrong choices are wrong. Then, retake those six exams once or twice more. Don't worry about remembering the answers. But, try to focus on eliminating wrong answers using a consistent approach (that is, really try and make an effort to get to each answer using process of elimination or deduction instead of gut instinct). Then, go into newer PTs.

Use the retakes to weed out any poor habits. <<<---- This is usually the main reason for poor performance after sustained self-study.