International student looking for advice

CocoSunshine

International student looking for advice

Postby CocoSunshine » Mon Nov 18, 2013 2:22 am

Hi there,

I am an international student sitting for February’s LSAT. I have just started preparing this week, so I only have 3 months to do it (I can study full time for 2 months). I have done some PTs and found that I am strong at LG, while weak at LR and RC. Any advice from international students would be appreciated. Also, I have 2 specific questions:
1. Almost all RC instruction books in the market seem to be criticized a lot. Which one is better?
2. Is the LSAT trainer suitable for starters? Should I go over PS or Manhattan first before turning to the trainer?

Thank you all very much in advance!

IgosduIkana

Re: International student looking for advice

Postby IgosduIkana » Mon Nov 18, 2013 3:51 am

1. I liked the Manhattan RC Strategy guide. It was the only one I used and I thought it was helpful. Teaches you to read differently. For example when you're reading a book on a beach for leisure and hoping to be entertained, and when you're reading a book to prepare a book report...you're focusing on different elements of the reading. During leisure you may be looking for characters and their emotions and other things that help you immerse yourself in the tale, in the other mode you may be looking for themes, tones, parallels between characters, etc. for your book report. Similarly, the Manhattan book trains you to read for elements important to the test, like viewpoints, opinions, evidence, and other things.

2. I built my foundational understanding of every section with those books. My guess is that there are more people doing that than using LSAT trainer from the get-go.

Good luck.

CocoSunshine

Postby CocoSunshine » Mon Nov 18, 2013 1:55 pm