Quick question regarding the games

hazara
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 6:42 pm

Quick question regarding the games

Postby hazara » Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:54 pm

Hi everyone, ive been a long time lurker but am a first time poster.

I would just like to clarify a misunderstanding i have regarding the games.

If a rule in an "in out game" states that "if S is not in then V is in" can I infer from this statement that if S is in V is not in? I believe that everytime V is in S is not in but i wanted to know if S is in does that mean V is not?

Thanks!

User avatar
Jeffort
Posts: 1897
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 4:43 pm

Re: Quick question regarding the games

Postby Jeffort » Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:59 pm

hazara wrote:Hi everyone, ive been a long time lurker but am a first time poster.

I would just like to clarify a misunderstanding i have regarding the games.

If a rule in an "in out game" states that "if S is not in then V is in" can I infer from this statement that if S is in V is not in? I believe that everytime V is in S is not in but i wanted to know if S is in does that mean V is not?

Thanks!


No, that type of rule does not establish that the variables cannot be selected together. It is possible to select both S & V together based on that rule alone. The rule only establishes that you have to have at least one of the two (you cannot put them both in the out group together), and it does allow for you to have both.
Last edited by Jeffort on Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mellow
Posts: 296
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 8:07 pm

Re: Quick question regarding the games

Postby mellow » Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:00 pm

hazara wrote:Hi everyone, ive been a long time lurker but am a first time poster.

I would just like to clarify a misunderstanding i have regarding the games.

If a rule in an "in out game" states that "if S is not in then V is in" can I infer from this statement that if S is in V is not in? I believe that everytime V is in S is not in but i wanted to know if S is in does that mean V is not?

Thanks!

No.

If ~S then V.
If ~V then S is the contrapositive.

This means at least one of them has to be in the group, but both can be in the group as well.

User avatar
SkYlarwHite
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:57 pm

Re: Quick question regarding the games

Postby SkYlarwHite » Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:59 pm

Whenever not is in the sufficient, just know that it always means one or the other or both....

Yay! My first post pertains to my favorite section =)

hazara
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 6:42 pm

Re: Quick question regarding the games

Postby hazara » Sat Nov 09, 2013 3:27 pm

thanks guys/gals that was helpful




Return to “LSAT Prep and Discussion Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BobBoblaw, CHyde, cianchetta0, Instrumental, SunDevil14, tuesdayninja, Voyager and 8 guests