Should i retake a 3rd time?

nppate5

Should i retake a 3rd time?

Postby nppate5 » Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:30 pm

I took my first LSAT in June and got a 161, then i retook it in october but got a 158. I studied but wasnt feeling confident the second time. Should i retake a third time. My diagnostics were much higher throughout my practices and i was studying to improve. Im very conflicted. Im in my senior year and i was hoping to apply this cycle but taking it again may mean hurting my chances. Please help.

Jeffort

Re: Should i retake a 3rd time?

Postby Jeffort » Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:39 pm

If you need a higher score than 161 for your target schools, the answer is self evident. If you take it again and score higher it will help your admissions chances since schools generally just focus on your highest score.

The important issue to consider if you do re-take is how to prep again so that you actually do perform significantly higher than 161. You need to prepare differently than you did for October since whatever you did didn't turn out to increase your score. First thing is to figure out why you didn't achieve a score in your PT range on the October test so that you can make a better study plan for your final re-take.

Once you download and print out the test disclosure files you should review the questions you got wrong to figure out what happened.
Last edited by Jeffort on Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

guano

Postby guano » Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:42 pm

the correct answer is: hell yeah

A higher school means A) better chances of getting into a school you're borderline at, B) the possibility of getting into schools you couldn't get into before, or C) more scholarship money at schools you can get into

Hell, there are very few schools worth attending (under limited circumstances) with the score you have now

Nova

Postby Nova » Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:43 pm

If you can do better, retake.

nppate5

Postby nppate5 » Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:44 pm