Question on a Question

enveng427

Question on a Question

Postby enveng427 » Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:19 pm

I'm currently working through the McGraw-Hill Conquering LSAT Logic Games 3rd edition. I'm really new to studying this stuff (read within the past week). I don't plan on taking the LSAT any time real soon (thinking next June). However, this one constraint really confuses me. It says, "Anna gets into the pool only if Chris gets into the pool." Shouldn't that be the same as, "If Chris gets into the pool, Anna gets into the pool."? If so, shouldn't that be mapped C->A not A->C. Please let me know if I'm doing something wrong here.

ScottRiqui

Re: Question on a Question

Postby ScottRiqui » Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:42 pm

enveng427 wrote:I'm currently working through the McGraw-Hill Conquering LSAT Logic Games 3rd edition. I'm really new to studying this stuff (read within the past week). I don't plan on taking the LSAT any time real soon (thinking next June). However, this one constraint really confuses me. It says, "Anna gets into the pool only if Chris gets into the pool." Shouldn't that be the same as, "If Chris gets into the pool, Anna gets into the pool."? If so, shouldn't that be mapped C->A not A->C. Please let me know if I'm doing something wrong here.

No, what the statement is saying is that Anna won't get into the pool unless Chris does. So if Anna is in the pool, you know Chris must be there too, or else she wouldn't have gotten in. This translates to (A -> C).

There's nothing in the statement that says Anna has to be in the pool in order for Chris to get in, so (C -> A) is incorrect.

enveng427

Postby enveng427 » Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:04 pm

Thanks, I guess that makes sense.

mindarmed

Postby mindarmed » Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:07 pm

Don't use McGraw Hill. Purchase Manhattan LSAT.

altoid99

Postby altoid99 » Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:15 pm