A Question about Grouping Games

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
User avatar
cookiecrisp

Bronze
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 2:10 pm

A Question about Grouping Games

Postby cookiecrisp » Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:25 am

So let's say I have a rule that states this:

If C and D are selected, then E must be selected.

When I draw that rule, I typically do this:

C
and ----> E
D

E ----> C or D

My question is, can I still place E in the game without C and D? Doesn't this rule just mean that E must be in if C and D are in, but otherwise it can be in as it pleases?

jshaffer740

New
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:48 am

Re: A Question about Grouping Games

Postby jshaffer740 » Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:35 am

cookiecrisp wrote:So let's say I have a rule that states this:

If C and D are selected, then E must be selected.

When I draw that rule, I typically do this:

C
and ----> E
D

E ----> C or D

My question is, can I still place E in the game without C and D? Doesn't this rule just mean that E must be in if C and D are in, but otherwise it can be in as it pleases?


Yes - just remember this. "Sufficient condition not triggered, rule irrelevant." Meaning, if E is in, you have no rule triggered, because you have no rule in which "E in" is in the sufficient condition.



Return to “LSAT Prep and Discussion Forum�

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bdubmanu and 10 guests