Is taking a diagnostic LSAT imperative?

Lsataddict175

Is taking a diagnostic LSAT imperative?

Postby Lsataddict175 » Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:12 pm

I'm new to TLS and am already finding all of the advice on this website to be invaluable. It's great to hear from top scorers on how to approach the LSAT in both an efficient and successful manner. Consequently, I would like to ask everyone a few questions regarding LSAT preparation. I plan on taking the June 14' test and will begin studying for the test within the next week. I don't expect any of you to answer all the questions, but even answering one will help me immensely since I'm a novice when it comes to the LSAT. Thank you in advance!

Q1- Is taking a diagnostic LSAT imperative? I remember reading an LSAT diary on Steve's LSAT blog about a girl who stated that not taking a diagnostic LSAT was the best decision she ever made. She mentioned how she was afraid that if she got a low score it would dash all her hopes. Many people assert that it's highly unlikely/impossible to score 20 points higher than your diagnostic. In the end, this girl ended up scoring a 172 on the actual exam and was really happy with the decision to not take a diagnostic. I tend to feel the same way. My hope is to receive a 170+ on this exam, and I feel that if I took a diagnostic exam today I would only get in the low 150's. My confidence would be shattered and I want to begin my LSAT prep with full confidence. Did anyone on TLS not take a diagnostic exam?