Wait til December test, or take both October and December?

Borscht is Best

Wait til December test, or take both October and December?

Postby Borscht is Best » Sat Aug 24, 2013 9:47 am

Hi TLSers, I've been lurking around these forums for a few months, but I need some advice from those who're willing to spare it.

I took my first LSAT 3 years ago. I went in guns blazing, but without any ammunition, and ended up scoring a whopping 148.

Now I've been prepping for a few months, mostly drilling, but as for the few PTs I have taken I've been scoring in the 165-170 range. I'm aiming for 171+

I've heard that multiple scores will not affect attendence, but that it could have an effect on scholarship $$.

On the other hand, if I wait for the december test, there are two problems:

1 - I'd be applying pretty late in the process, which may affect my chances of attendence at t14
2 - There'd be a greater chance that I get a "bad" test, in the sense that it could attack my biggest weaknesses (convoluted Sci RC, parallel reasoning). If I took both the October and December tests, then that chance is cut in half.

Any advice is much appreciated!

Toby Ziegler

Re: Wait til December test, or take both October and December?

Postby Toby Ziegler » Sat Aug 24, 2013 10:53 am

When are you planning on applying? This cycle starting here in a few weeks, or next cycle? If you are applying next cycle I wouldn't waste the extra money and just take the December LSAT, and you still have Feb. and/or June to retake. But if you are planning to apply this cycle, depending on your GPA, you should do everything you can to get your PT average up to where you want it, and take ASAP, so you can get your apps in as soon as possible. But if you have a high GPA and you are gunning for HYS TLS wisdom says applying early doesn't give you any advantage.

Borscht is Best

Postby Borscht is Best » Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:37 am