LR getting A LOT worse now that I'm studying/drilling Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
vuthy

Bronze

LR getting A LOT worse now that I'm studying/drilling

Post by vuthy » Mon Jul 15, 2013 2:52 pm

Probably just need a pep talk or something, but my LR scores have gone from a combined -6 in my PTs (before studying a lick) to about -12 in my latest PTs. Real kick in the nuts today when I got -15 (-15!!) on PT 56. I've been drilling Cambridge very systematically, following advice here. Even bought the 7Sage course. And yet I'm making way more mistakes now, and barely finishing, whereas before I had time to go back and check answers.

My theory is that I'm overthinking, trying to apply new rules/knowledge, and that this is causing problems. Just curious if anyone else experienced this kind of "darkest before the dawn" thing.

(FWIW, I'm consistently RC-2 and LG-1, so I feel like I have the potential to clear 170, but LR really has me upside down right now.)

Anybody had similar experience and/or have advice? Thanks.

Darmody

Bronze

Re: LR getting A LOT worse now that I'm studying/drilling

Post by Darmody » Mon Jul 15, 2013 3:00 pm

You should just go back to what was working for you imo. Some people work differently and these strategies from LSAT guides don't work for them.

vuthy

Bronze

Post by vuthy » Mon Jul 15, 2013 3:03 pm

I suppose. Just hard to believe my own instincts are better than all this collected wisdom. That certainly wasn't true with LG, where on my own I was -12 when I started. But maybe you're right.

elg

New

Post by elg » Mon Jul 15, 2013 3:12 pm