Is modern LSAT more suited for techies?

bilbaosan

Is modern LSAT more suited for techies?

Postby bilbaosan » Sun Jun 30, 2013 2:14 am

A new member here, studying for Oct 2013. Have gone so far through Preps 30-35 and getting really concerned what kind of knowledge is necessary to pass it. I'm really good in tech and engineering (I've been a software engineer for a decade) but topics such as art, philosophy and poetry/music are admittedly the least clear for me.

Every six PTs I went through there is always at least one RC topic covering one of those subjects, and some tests have more than one. For example, today's #36 was a text about "English Renaissance Latin". I went through this text several times, went through the dictionary and Wikipedia to find out what "intellectual history" is, but still missed 5 out of 7 questions. To be honest, I did not understand that piece of text at all, so even reading the explanations did not help.

So the question: how typical are those passages in modern LSAT tests? Do the test authors still expect us to know the difference between determinism and non-determinism, and what between realism and expressionism in art? It amazes me that they throw in those terms as-is while going into much greater details into explaining how computer conferences work, or what homeostasis is.

Thank you in advance!

heythatslife

Re: Is modern LSAT more suited for techies?

Postby heythatslife » Sun Jun 30, 2013 3:23 am

Expect more recent ones to be similar in the scope of their RC topics. It's not just by coincidence that you find at least one arts and humanities-related topics on each RC section; I think the passage topic distribution is supposed to be 1 arts and humanities/1 legal/1 hard science/1 social science.

Br3v

Postby Br3v » Sun Jun 30, 2013 4:16 am

Didnt read much of the OP but if your question is does knowing about a passage subject matter help, the answer is almost 100% no in any helpful (read: point earning) way.

mindarmed