Types of Questions LR Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Suits99

New

Types of Questions LR

Post by Suits99 » Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:46 am

Before I ask this question, note that I started studying for the LSAT 2 weeks ago.

I am curious if the two types of questions in the LR section are broken up into conditional reasoning and cause and effect reasoning? So far, I have been studying conditional reasoning and cause and effect reasoning, and I am wondering if all LR questions revolve around these two basic concepts?

Thanks!

Typhoon24

Silver

Re: Types of Questions LR

Post by Typhoon24 » Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:55 am

Some of the questions do indeed revolve around those topics but certainly not all. Manhattan and powerscore breakdown the question types nicely in their LR guides. You can expect 4-6 conditional and c and e questions combined in one section at most.

okaygo

Silver

Post by okaygo » Sat Jun 15, 2013 12:02 pm

The key to cracking LR is understanding assumption family questions (neccesary/sufficent assumption, strength/weaken, identify a flaw etc) and having a strategy for parallel reasoning/flaw questions.

In assumption family/flaw questions just look for the gap between the premise and the conclusion.

Suits99

New

Post by Suits99 » Sat Jun 15, 2013 12:03 pm

I have the powerscore LR bible. Do you think it is worth the bulk of my time to study conditional reasoning and cause and effect? Or should I evenly study all the chapters in the powerscore LR bible?

Suits99

New

Post by Suits99 » Sat Jun 15, 2013 12:06 pm

okaygo wrote:The key to cracking LR is understanding assumption family questions (neccesary/sufficent assumption, strength/weaken, identify a flaw etc) and having a strategy for parallel reasoning/flaw questions.

In assumption family/flaw questions just look for the gap between the premise and the conclusion.
If you have the powerscore LR bible, you are saying to focus on chapters 7, 9, and 13?