Retake: Question about LSAT Prep Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
LewAlcindor

New

Retake: Question about LSAT Prep

Post by LewAlcindor » Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:20 am

Hello folks,

I have a few questions about LSAT Prep, especially regarding retaking.
I sat for the February administration and scored a 160. I studied for about 6 weeks while in school and working. I was not consistent with studying at all, but still feel like I was able to grasp some of the larger concepts. I used Princeton Review's Cracking the LSAT and, after I finished it, I still felt ill-prepared, so I bought Nova's Master the LSAT. I read it cover to cover and felt like it helped a lot. I purchased the "10 New Actual, Official LSAT PrepTests."
My practice test sessions (I only did 3 under real conditions) were mid- to high- 150's, but I felt like the LSAT went decently well considering the time constraints of study and my school/work schedule. I was relieved to see that my gut feeling was right considering a 160 is a decent score for a first-time test taker.
Since the February administration is non-disclosed, I have no way of knowing what I missed or what I got correct, but I know from my practice tests which sections I need to work on.
Games give me almost no trouble (regularly at -3), but Reading Comprehension is by far my worst section and Logical Reasoning (Arguements) is also tough for me.

I am taking the October administration and I really want to get somewhere in the 173-175 score band.
So, my main question is this: Do you all feel that buying the Powerscore Bibles for each of these subjects (specifically Reading) will help me or not? What have you found to be the best book for improving Reading Comprehension for a retaker? What have you found to be the best book for improving Arguments? If you have used Powerscore Bibles extensively, can you comment on the results you've gotten?