LSAT Prep Books Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
rob91

New

LSAT Prep Books

Post by rob91 » Sat May 25, 2013 1:45 pm

I'm new to this, and am looking to get my studies started now for the October exam. After perusing some threads here it seems the Powerscore and Manhattan prep books are the most recommended. My question on these is that each company seems to have two books for each section. For instance, Powerscore has a logic games bible (http://www.amazon.com/PowerScore-LSAT-L ... s%20bible)), and a logic games workbook (http://www.amazon.com/PowerScore-Logic- ... score+lsat). Manhattan has something similar. Is it beneficial to get both?

It seems, then, my purchase would be a total of 12 books (six from each company), plus the actual tests. Anything else recommended?

Also, any advice on a prep course? I've narrowed it down to Kaplan, Blueprint, and Testmasters (Princeton was the other option, but its closest testing center is too far for me). I've seen many people here write these courses off, however I think I will still do one. If not for the simple fact that I might learn something, I would also find it helpful for keeping a study schedule, staying motivated, and meeting fellow lsat takers to talk/share info with.

The LSAT Trainer

Silver

Re: LSAT Prep Books

Post by The LSAT Trainer » Sat May 25, 2013 1:58 pm

Hi -- the workbooks and such are add-ons, and you can get them as you need them --

If you are going to go the ps/mlsat route, the books you are probably looking for are --

1) the 3 ps bibles (not the workbooks)
2) the manhattan 3 pack

6 books total.

Keep in mind that in addition to those books, you will need to purchase official practice tests, and that the bulk of your studies will likely be done on real q's (learn from the books, drill q types, and take pt's is the general recommendation/route to success here).

Good luck! -- hope you don't become an LSAT addict like some of these folks -- Mike Kim

dw3