Having Trouble Posting Better Scores

koval

Having Trouble Posting Better Scores

Postby koval » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:25 pm

I took the LSAT last December and got a 158 (studied for less than a month, which I realize now was really stupid). Got into Loyola-Chicago and William and Mary but decided to delay a cycle and retake this October to shoot for a 170+ and a shot at the T14.

I started studying 4 weeks ago and am loosely following NoodleyOne's guide to retaking. My initial diagnostic when I began 4 weeks ago was 160. I've been studying pretty much only LG after going -10 on the section. I just finished going through the Powerscore LGB.

I've taken 2 PT's since my diagnostic and I'm really unable to go above my diagnostic. I'm improving a little bit in the LG section but other than RC, where I never go more than -3 for the section, nothing's consistent. I'm feeling a bit demotivated like I'm either not physically able to score higher or that I'm studying in a completely inefficient way/not internalizing the material. I keep reading how your score should improve and I'm just amazed that I'm exactly where I was 4 weeks ago even with going through the whole LGB.

For all of the people who studied and saw their scores go up while doing PT's what was your time frame and feel for how you were getting the material? Is there a better way I should be studying than just going section by section (LG to LR to RC) and drilling?

NoodleyOne

Re: Having Trouble Posting Better Scores

Postby NoodleyOne » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:49 pm

It tends to take awhile to see the improvement, but once it hits it will be significant. Go through the bible and/or mlsat, drill, and focus on internalizing what you're learning and improvement will come.

koval

Postby koval » Mon Apr 22, 2013 9:48 pm

I know from your article you had a diagnostic at around mine right? How were your looking 2-3 months from that?

johnreagan

Postby johnreagan » Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:42 pm