Studying for a retake.... share your experience!

jad0re

Studying for a retake.... share your experience!

Postby jad0re » Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:44 pm

Last edited by jad0re on Thu Apr 25, 2013 11:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SteelPenguin

Re: Studying for a retake.... share your experience!

Postby SteelPenguin » Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:31 pm

I scored a 165 in December and have been consistently PTing between a 169 and 174, but sometimes I do recognize old questions. I'd love a 170+, and would be disappointed with anything below a 167. I'm studying for a few hours a day, 6 days a week now.

objection_your_honor

Postby objection_your_honor » Mon Apr 15, 2013 12:31 pm

Untimed is obviously not going to be indicative of a real score, but it's a good sign.

Take it in October and do this: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=195603

che3055

Postby che3055 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 9:21 am

Similar experience here, though maybe not extreme. I had gone nearly 5 months without any LSAT of any kind, and my first test back was my highest score ever. Since then, only once have I gotten a lower score than my most recent, actual LSAT (sub-170), and four times (out of 18) I've broken 175. A few reasons why -

1. I am redoing some old tests. Although the scores are not greatly different than tests that I am unfamiliar with, there are certainly tests, or at least questions, where even a vague familiarity is helpful. Maybe it clues me in to something to look at, maybe it just lets me anticipate the question better and save time, but I'd say this contributes to at least one or two questions per test in LR (RC and LG I don't remember enough to make a difference, other than "Oh yeah, there was an RC passage about this once.")

2. I've been doing older tests, and I've heard it said that these are easier. No idea if this is true, but if so, could explain things.