Average time to prepare for LSAT

obsrvr

Average time to prepare for LSAT

Postby obsrvr » Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:34 pm

Hello everyone,

I am about to begin preparing for LSAT, first time, and just to have a rough idea, what is the average time it takes for someone to do well on LSAT for someone familiar with the format/sectons (1 month, 3 month, year, etc.) based on the stories you have heard or your personal experience? How long does it make sense to practice? Obviously, I am not looking for answers like "2 weeks" or something because it is rare and frankly I do not consider myself a genius or a great test taker.

I studied for GMAT, so I have a decent idea about LR and RC sections, albeit I understand the LSAT stuff is harder than GMAT's verbal part (I saw the thread which exam is easier and I think it is fair to say that Verbal part of GMAT is easier than LSAT, having seen LSAT practice tests) and I would not say I did fantastically well on GMAT Verbal.

On another note, if I wanted to get into top 10 Law Schools or JD/MBA programs, what would you say is the lowest LSAT score you can get into one of them?

Thanks in advance for your inputs.

J90

Re: Average time to prepare for LSAT

Postby J90 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:50 pm

This is ridiculously dependent on where you are right now.

Generally, I'd say give yourself around 2-3 months of honest, total effort to know that you put in a substantial amount of time toward the LSAT. It's a terrible feeling to think you might've been able to score higher, and that might've meant the difference in the next highest group of schools or a significant amount of aid. Don't settle for, "I only want 165+," or "I just need the bare minimum to make Duke consider me," shoot for that 180 and everything else will follow.