Choosing the Right LSAT Prep for Me - Help Appreciated

ScarletKnight90

Choosing the Right LSAT Prep for Me - Help Appreciated

Postby ScarletKnight90 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 7:06 pm

Hey everyone,

First time poster, long time reader of TLS. I am interested in taking the October 2013 LSATs and just wanted to know what would be the best option for me in terms of prep.

For some brief background info, I am currently a full time Mass Tort Paralegal at a Newark NJ Plaintiff Firm. I graduated from Rutgers New Brunswick/Piscataway with a dual major in History and Political Science in May of last year (3.1 GPA). I took the LSAT once before in October 2012 and prepped with a Princeton Review course (cannot recall whether it was Hyperlearning or Ultimate course). I was projecting in the mid 150s and ended up with a 147 unfortunately, probably in large part due to nerves and not preparing enough.

All I am looking to do is get a decent enough score to get into Rutgers Newark (soon to be known as Rutgers University School of Law with the impending Camden/Newark school merger). Cost effective as a NJ resident. According to the school website, GPA is 25/75 3.46/3.03 and LSAT is 25/75 161/155 (Class of 2012 stats). So basically I am looking to just secure a 160 if possible.

Any advice on how to begin my prep? (I am completely fine with shelling out $1500 for a prep course if it means getting into RU Newark.) I see a lot of negative reviews for Kaplan on TLS and I would be open to taking Princeton Review again (Ultimate course that runs through the summer). There are Test Masters and Power Score courses in the New Brunswick area as well, but from what I have read here those courses are better suited for those interested in going to a T30 school. A lot of the courses do not start until mid to late July which is why I was also wondering what books should I buy and begin my prep with now? A lot of posters here seem to favor the Powerscore Bible series.