International student needs help on Reading Comp. Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
DanielJ

New

International student needs help on Reading Comp.

Post by DanielJ » Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:44 am

Hi guys, I found this forum really helpful and post for advice.
I am an International student and English is not my mother tongue.
Studied LSAT from January. I feel LG and LR okay (I mean I think I can improve with more practice).
The real problem is Reading Comp. It takes me about 10-12 minutes to complete a passage with 2-3 wrong answers.
For difficult passages, such as humanities, I need to read 2 or 3 times to understand the passage.
I am working on full time. I think more practice definitely would bring some improvements but would appreciate any help.

Thanks!

Theopliske8711

Gold

Re: International student needs help on Reading Comp.

Post by Theopliske8711 » Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:21 pm

Unfortunately, the RC is a section even native speakers tend to struggle with, so I doubt many people are going to be of much help to someone who is not a native English speaker. That said, if comprehension is your issue, you may want to relax on the LSAT a bit and try and perfect your English. Not just for the RC but for the LR as well, and even some LG sections can have vague language that requires nuance to understand. You may want to start to do some heavy reading to improve comprehension since it looks like you very far away from being able to take the LSAT at a comfortable level.

eliztudorr

Bronze

Post by eliztudorr » Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:02 pm

DanielJ wrote:Hi guys, I found this forum really helpful and post for advice.
I am an International student and English is not my mother tongue.
Studied LSAT from January. I feel LG and LR okay (I mean I think I can improve with more practice).
The real problem is Reading Comp. It takes me about 10-12 minutes to complete a passage with 2-3 wrong answers.