Need a little advice on when to take the LSAT

Chowfun

Need a little advice on when to take the LSAT

Postby Chowfun » Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:04 pm

Okay I plan to take the test in June, but I was thinking about taking it for the first time in October. This means that any school I ED at will only take this score. I know this puts a lot of pressure on me to do well on the first exam, but I have no intention of taking it twice. I also think that since I'm studying now for it and because I am putting a lot of work and effort into it I should have the test mastered by October. I am worried I will not be prepared enough for June because I just started studying the last week in January. Does this line of thinking make sense?

The reason I am thinking this was is because the way I am approaching the exam.

I am learning each type of LR question and then doing about 30 practice questions on them and only when I am efficient in that section do I move on. Then on the weekend I go over every section I had done that week to freshen up and ensure I have a handle on it. So as a result I am still learning LR, because there are several different types of LR. I fear because of the way I am approaching this, I won't have much time to take a bunch of PT and master taking the test under pressure.

bobbypin

Re: Need a little advice on when to take the LSAT

Postby bobbypin » Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:23 pm

Take the June. This way, if you think you can do better, you have October to take it. There may be something that happens on test day that you didn't expect. Always give yourself an out.

Chowfun

Postby Chowfun » Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:59 pm

I do see what you are saying. I guess I just have to buckle down more. For the past week I have been putting in 5 hours s day. Today I didn't because of prior commitments. Tomorrow I intend to put in more to make up for yesterday. This way I can clear through LR and hopefully RC and LG by end of March, which gives me April and May to PT myself to death.