LSAT tutors in San Diego. Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
magickware

Bronze

LSAT tutors in San Diego.

Post by magickware » Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:58 pm

Some background-

I had gotten a 164 on the Oct. 2012 LSAT test and it pissed me off. I realized then that I made some serious errors with the way I studied for the test, namely not bothering to look at every section individually besides the games and just mindlessly doing tests. So I decided to follow NoodleyOne's strat.

After studying for the past two and a half months, I've managed to get myself to the point where I consistently score anywhere from 167-171. LG is a breeze unless I get hit with something that just eats my time (or I make an incredibly stupid error), RC has been a toss-up between a -0 or a -5 with no rhyme or reason. However, after I managed to bring that to a -0 or -2 after I started following Voyager's "just paraphrase every paragraph on the margins" strategy. This also varies depending on incredibly stupid errors.

That's all great, but my LR simply refuses to budge. I've gone through a Powerscore course, read the Powerscore LR bible twice, got and read the Manhattan LR book through. Did a vast majority of the organized LR sections. All that, and I still cannot get myself to get fewer than a total of -6 to -8 in the combined score.

Honestly, I'd be happy if I had problem with a specific question type, but that's not it. I just have difficulty with the last 5 to 7 questions in each LR section. There doesn't seem to be a particular question type I get wrong- I just fail to understand how certain questions work at the moment I do them. I've been looking at the Manhattan LSAT forum and their explanations for the LR sections. They're great and I understand what I did wrong for those questions, but I seem to be failing at incorporating that understanding into a greater body of knowledge to use for future tests.