Should I even consider law school? 19 y/o, 147 diagnostic

lloydbraun

Should I even consider law school? 19 y/o, 147 diagnostic

Postby lloydbraun » Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:53 am

Today I took my first timed test, though, over the past fortnight I have taken 4 tests at my own pace, usually checking the answers every 5 or so question. I have also done 8 logic games sections on top of the 4 tests.

I feel extremely discouraged by the results, and while I feel as though I can make an improvement, I’m unsure if I can get my score up to the 165-172 range
LG -12, LR -11, LR -9, RC -17

My biggest problem is reading comprehension. I was a lazy student who read only when it was absolutely necessary, and as a result I suffer tremendously in this area. I am very slow and often struggle to make it to the third passage within 35 minutes, and the questions I do manage to answer are seldom right. I feel that because I lack the innate abilities required for this section my only hope is to drastically improve all other sections, which is a daunting task in itself. I try to read for at least an hour a day, really paying attention to what I am reading, trying to visualize and remember the preceding sentences and paragraphs I have read, and making sure I understand what is being said. I feel this is helping me, but I am unsure if I will be able to make the leaps and bounds required for me to just do ok at this section.

The logic reasoning section also causes me great trouble. I never have any confidence in my answers and always fail to answer the last 3-6 questions. I find myself reading the questions over and over without really comprehending them, and losing focus very quickly. I believe I can improve this section, but to cut 2/3rds of my errors out seems unrealistic.