Increasing RC score

UCLAHopeful2014

Increasing RC score

Postby UCLAHopeful2014 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:48 pm

Hi All, :D

So, I started studying in September for the Dec LSAT and began PTs in Nov. I was scoring consistently at 162-164. However, my last PT was 167. I usually missed -1 on LG, -12 on LR, and -7 on RC.
I took the December LSAT and scored a 160. -12 on RC, -9 on LR, and -5 on LG (made a transcribing error, which caused me to waste time and cost me 4 correct answers).
I have started studying again and am using Voyager's RC strategy to improve that section. I want to get down to -1 and at most -4.

Does anyone have suggestions on RC or know about the success of Voyager's strategy?

Also, if I score 168 or 169 on the June/Oct LSAT, do schools consider the lower score?

Thanks! :lol:

WhatOurBodiesAreFor

Re: Increasing RC score

Postby WhatOurBodiesAreFor » Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:55 pm

I don't know anything about voyager.

But to your second question, if you are confident that you can score higher, absolutely do so. If you increase your score on the second time, schools will all but look past your first score. I think this is especially true once you hit the mid 160s.

I took the test three times. I increased by several points each time. I really don't think this hurt me at all.

In the case of a two-time test taker who increased from 160 to mid/high-160s, rest assured your 160 will all but just be taking up ink on the paper.

bp shinners

Postby bp shinners » Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:32 pm

Here's something quick lsatkid007 threw together from a number of my 'quick tip' posts:

A) Get yourself excited to read the passages

B) Read the passage carefully

C) Pause, examine, and anticipate after each paragraph

D) Read for Primary Structure / Organization Structure / Secondary Structure

1. You read for primary structure so you can know what the different viewpoints are on the topic, and who holds those viewpoints. They will help you answer the viewpoints questions.