sophomore looking for advice on how to START studying LSAT

philly93

sophomore looking for advice on how to START studying LSAT

Postby philly93 » Sun Jan 06, 2013 5:54 pm

i am currently a sophomore but i really want to start preparing for the LSAT. I have looked over the sticked posts and seen the recommended books but i was wondering which one of those should i start first? i already know my weakest section would be logic games/ so should i look into getting practice in that? also what prep book is a real good introduction in the reasoning skills required for the LSAT?

rad lulz

Re: sophomore looking for advice on how to START studying LSAT

Postby rad lulz » Sun Jan 06, 2013 6:59 pm

Go have fun dude

TheMostDangerousLG

Postby TheMostDangerousLG » Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:28 pm

rad lulz wrote:Go have fun dude

For real. You have 18 months until the June administration following your junior year. And even if you wanted to start way early and be able to take February, June, AND October the year you're applying, you still have 13 months. You'll burn yourself out by then.

.. but if you must (or rather, for people reading this thread looking for similar advice who actually should start studying right now), I personally think beginning with the PS LGB is a good idea.

boblawlob

Postby boblawlob » Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:34 pm

Take a free timed practice test offered by any prep companies out there. Done? That's your diagnostic.

Are you the typical go-getter or you are totally lazy and have money to throw away?

If the former, read the PS bible to better understand what the test is about to familiarize yourself. Do some practice drilling, namely the Cambridge packets. Take actual PTs, but very sparingly because you want to save them all for the real test (prob max 4 PTs from the old ones to mid 2000s). Spread this out though. Do something like 5 LR questions a day routine once you finish sophomore year.