Background in logic/philosophy necessary

cause8191

Background in logic/philosophy necessary

Postby cause8191 » Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:35 pm

I have no background in either, although last year I did read some of Walton's books and recently skimmed through some logic books from the library. I have been having terrible times in my short three weeks of prepping trying to sort through information, sub-analyze it, and intuitively find holes in the arguments. Like most everything I do, I am overthinking this and I just realized this. My strategy now is to find patterns in the stimuli and answer choices, without reading them three times through with no solid understanding. Is it possible to have success in LR (I am talking no more than -5 on both sections) without any prior knowledge of logic/philosophy?

boblawlob

Re: Background in logic/philosophy necessary

Postby boblawlob » Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:36 pm

Yes.

rinkrat19

Postby rinkrat19 » Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:37 pm

Yep. Never took a logic or philosophy class in my life (or even read any books).

Postby 09042014 » Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:38 pm

cause8191 wrote:I have no background in either, although last year I did read some of Walton's books and recently skimmed through some logic books from the library. I have been having terrible times in my short three weeks of prepping trying to sort through information, sub-analyze it, and intuitively find holes in the arguments. Like most everything I do, I am overthinking this and I just realized this. My strategy now is to find patterns in the stimuli and answer choices, without reading them three times through with no solid understanding. Is it possible to have success in LR (I am talking no more than -5 on both sections) without any prior knowledge of logic/philosophy?

Philosophy is totally unnecessary. You have to understand logic though, but you gotta be pretty stupid to not understand basic logic.