23%
Apply Now
8%

Total votes: 13

UCLAHopeful2014

LSAT Retake? Delay apps 1 year?

Postby UCLAHopeful2014 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:39 am

Hi All,

So, I started studying in September for the LSAT and began PTs in Nov. I was scoring consistently at 162-164. However, my last PT was 167. I usually missed -1 on LG, -12 on LR, and -7 on RC.
I took the December LSAT and scored a 160. -12 on RC, -9 on LR, and -5 on LG. The first two games on the LG were extremely easy but the last two were difficult. I ended up forgetting to fill in an answer for #15 and it messed up my last game when I realized it (I missed 4 ?s on the last game). I also was enrolled in 18 credits and worked 20 hours a week.

If I applied now, it would be to UC Davis, Hastings, Irvine, U of Washington, Washington & Lee (all may still be hard to get into). U of Washington is one of my top choices.

I had my heart set on applying this cycle but my dream is to attend UCLA, one reason being the William's Institute. Should I retake in June or Oct. (hope for a 168+) and have all of my applications ready to go by October? I graduate from ug in May. I have a 3.88 GPA from a large state school and 3.93 LSDASGPA. If I wait to apply, I plan on studying starting February. What are your thoughts? :)

rigs321

Re: LSAT Retake? Delay apps 1 year?

Postby rigs321 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:54 am

I'm in a very similar situation and plan to re-take. I however, didn't have my heart set on this cycle as I have a good job so not necessarily in a rush though I had intended this cycle, pushing it back one is not a big deal for me.

Biggest reason to re-take and apply next cycle if you really think you can get 168+ (which if you PT there, you can) is money. As an URM I still have a chance of getting into my target, BU, but why just get in when you can save yourself thousands upon thousands of dollars with a better score.