When to take the LSAT?

ricekrispies

When to take the LSAT?

Postby ricekrispies » Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:37 am

Hey all. I am currently a Junior in Undergrad and have been lurking on this forum for a couple days now. I have been seriously going back and forth when it comes to possibly attending law school (the debt and risk of unemployment is frightening, but as far as I can tell, going to a T14 mostly mitigates the risk of unemployment). One question I haven't found answered, though, is when I should take the LSAT? Should I take it in June 2013 before my Senior year of Undergrad? I was thinking about taking it in February 2013 to experience it and not necessarily think of it as my main performance (apparently most schools don't accept February LSAT's?). Is there a specific time when taking it is best?

NoodleyOne

Re: When to take the LSAT?

Postby NoodleyOne » Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:51 am

Don't waste a take in feb if you're not ready. Prepare for June, and you can retKe in oct and dec if you need to.

M458

Postby M458 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:00 am

I wish I had taken it in June; I think it's the best time to take it. If you score well, you can get your apps in REALLY early, and if not, you can at least retake in October and get them in right away in early November.

boblawlob

Postby boblawlob » Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:42 am

Set a target score that you would be happy with.

Don't take the test until you hit that score +/- 3 in practice.

DON'T.

ricekrispies

Postby ricekrispies » Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:58 am

Thanks for the quick replies guys. The score that I am going to be comfortable with getting is a 175 or higher. I am very smart with an incredible memory (not bragging, just fact) but slacked off my first two years of college (Undergrad just isn't very...challenging. It doesn't stimulate my mind enough for me to actually want to put forth effort) and am sitting right now with a 3.2 GPA.