Advice on test prep--getting desperate!

calbear123

Advice on test prep--getting desperate!

Postby calbear123 » Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:32 pm

So I've been studying for about 5 months now (on and off but last 2 months full-time) and I haven't been seeing much progress. I've been scoring around 160-165 and haven't really changed. I'm getting really worried now, I was supposed to take it in October but decided to move it to December thinking that more prep would increase my score. I haven't taken a class, I've just done the bibles and I happen to have the books for the Test master's course so I've been doing those booklets as well. But recently I've just been doing practice tests.

I'm aiming for 170+ as many of you are. Logic games I'm doing ok and I know I'll be able to improve in that section but I'm having major difficulty in LR! It's strange though, sometimes I'll get -3 or 4 on an LR section and another time I'll get -10 or 11. No matter how much prep I do I feel like its not improving that much and its really starting to scare me.

I guess my question is, for logical reasoning do you guys follow the LR bible's reccomendation of identifying the question type and then approaching the question the way they dictate? Did you find it helpful memorizing the classification system and approaching the questions the way they say? Is it worth it to go back through the LR bible and memorizing their system before going back to practice tests? What else can I do to improve LR?

Sorry this is totally disorganized and all over the place but I've been trying to figure this out on my own and don't know what else to do. Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated :)

WanderingPondering

Re: Advice on test prep--getting desperate!

Postby WanderingPondering » Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:44 pm

calbear123 wrote:Logic games I'm doing ok and I know I'll be able to improve in that section but I'm having major difficulty in LR!

Sounds like you're already in the ight zone!

toothbrush