October 2012 Cancel or Keep

Cancel or let LSAC score this beast?

Poll ended at Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:11 pm

Cancel your score, probably didn't show enough improvement
No votes
Let LSAC score the test the curve will probably stick you above a 160
46%
Drink lots of beer and catch up on episodes of Breaking Bad.
54%

Total votes: 13

koenema3

October 2012 Cancel or Keep

Postby koenema3 » Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:11 pm

I am hoping to get some advice.

I had taken the June 2012 LSAT and scored 158 and UGPA is around 3.1. I have about 4 years of work experience as a social worker which ties directly into my desire to practice and pursue family law.

I had a lot of stressors going on when I took the test in June including lots of issues at work, health concerns, and a death of a family member. I was thinking that these may have lowered my score. I attempted to study and reduce stress and anxiety in preparation for the October 2012 exam.

My PTs do not show a great deal of improvement (around 157-159). I felt pretty confident on the sections and feel that I did not get to answering 7 questions through the test and was doubtful of about 15 more answers.

My concern is two sided:

Will law schools look at a cancelled score as a negative in your application?

Given a chance of getting a same score and looking at likely missing 22 answers, do you feel that it is worth the risk not to cancel scores? I have heard comments about a generous curve, but how does this effect the 160 mark?

Any advice is appreciated from the community, I'll have a few trouble nights to think about this before the 6 day window is closed.

Thank you in advance!
(first post)

Clarity

Re: October 2012 Cancel or Keep

Postby Clarity » Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:20 pm