. Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Gunnar Stahl

Silver

Post by Gunnar Stahl » Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:05 pm

Last edited by Gunnar Stahl on Wed May 01, 2013 9:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

VasaVasori

Silver

Post removed.

Post by VasaVasori » Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:06 pm

Post removed.
Last edited by VasaVasori on Sun May 10, 2015 3:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.

PDaddy

Gold

Re: Initial Diagnostic?

Post by PDaddy » Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:29 pm

Ghost93 wrote:I'm a college freshman, and I just took a practice LSAT online through Kaplan. I got a 149, with 26% correct on the logic games, 62% correct on logical reasoning, and 70% correct on reading comprehension. I know I'm several years away from the real test, but I feel incredibly stupid getting that low of a score.

Thanks in advance.
A diagnostic score is really not predictive of how you will wind up; it's just a statement of where you are right now. And 149, though not a competitive score for the top law schools, is still about 50th percentile. That's a good start. Lots of people have started at 149 (or even below) and gotten 170+.

Think of yourself as a weightlifter who has really done very little of it in the past. You need to build up to the point where you are lifting the big weights, but the time it takes to get there depends on a lot of things: your "foundation" or "experience", your muscle memory, your other activities and how you manage your time, your diet and overall health, the training and advice you get from "coaches" (and whether you follow it), your work ethic, your outside distractions, your confidence, and your ability to manage stress.

An even better analogy is the student who is learning a foreign language. Factors that might contribute to your learning curve would include your travel experience, what high schools and colleges you attended, what courses you have had, etc., in addition to the factors I listed above.