Typo in a PT?

User avatar
Poo-T
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:32 am

Typo in a PT?

Postby Poo-T » Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:31 pm

Ever run into a PT with a typo? The one I have, PT 33 LG Section 4, says: "which of the following MOST be true". I can't imagine that being anything but a typo. Maybe yours is different. I printed this off of Kaplan for what it's worth. I was just wondering if you guys ever had this happen.

User avatar
20130312
Posts: 3842
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:53 pm

Re: Typo in a PT?

Postby 20130312 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:34 pm

Poo-T wrote:Kaplan
Poo-T wrote:Kaplan
Poo-T wrote:Kaplan

User avatar
TripTrip
Posts: 2737
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:52 am

Re: Typo in a PT?

Postby TripTrip » Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:47 pm

There's no typo in the real PT. I just checked. :-P

User avatar
flippacious
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 3:54 pm

Re: Typo in a PT?

Postby flippacious » Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:54 pm

For whatever reason, Kaplan's PTs have a lot of typos in them. And it's not limited to typos. In one LG section, I remember a question that asked for something that MUST be true, and I swore that none of the things had to be true. Turns out, the real PT had it as a "could be true" question.

User avatar
Poo-T
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:32 am

Re: Typo in a PT?

Postby Poo-T » Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:02 pm

flippacious wrote:For whatever reason, Kaplan's PTs have a lot of typos in them. And it's not limited to typos. In one LG section, I remember a question that asked for something that MUST be true, and I swore that none of the things had to be true. Turns out, the real PT had it as a "could be true" question.

Wow, that's weird. How could Kaplan mess that up? Seems almost intentional to me. :|

RickyDnwhyc
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: Typo in a PT?

Postby RickyDnwhyc » Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:04 pm

I'm confused, if the original didn't have a typo, why did Kaplans? Did they re-type it manually or something?

User avatar
relevantfactor
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:13 pm

Re: Typo in a PT?

Postby relevantfactor » Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:09 pm

RickyDnwhyc wrote:I'm confused, if the original didn't have a typo, why did Kaplans? Did they re-type it manually or something?

That's what it looks like.

User avatar
SumStalwart
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:37 am

Re: Typo in a PT?

Postby SumStalwart » Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:00 pm

Guys, Kaplan's material is littered with grammatical, spelling, and logical flaws. How many times have you found issues with their logic game problems? I, myself, have found a few mistakes in their AC's (Kaplan 180). It killed my mentality, when I first started prepping. Rather than assuming that the answers had to be correct for the questions, I was looking for flaws in their logic (not a good approach to the LSAT). I'm glad that I'm not the only one~

bp shinners
Posts: 3091
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:05 pm

Re: Typo in a PT?

Postby bp shinners » Fri Oct 05, 2012 12:13 pm

Here's what happens:

LSAC provides the PTs in a certain format to prep companies. In order to make them editable, those files have to go through a conversion program. Sometimes, the conversion program messes the text up a bit (choking on a word, changing an 'm' into 'rn', messing up a carriage return). You catch some, others get through.




Return to “LSAT Prep and Discussion Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], BobBoblaw and 5 guests