How does an overly anxious person get 170+? OCD people?

gg2

How does an overly anxious person get 170+? OCD people?

Postby gg2 » Tue Sep 25, 2012 10:01 am

So I've been studying for the LSAT for 4 months and I've pretty much learned all the concepts (I reviewed questions I got wrong, understand why I got them wrong, why the correct answer choice is correct, etc). I've gotten perfect scores (or nearly perfect scores) on all the sections on separate occasions.
However, the stress/anxiety of racing against time often makes me make a shit ton of mistakes that I otherwise wouldn't have made. I might have General Anxiety Disorder (maybe? lol) and all the pressure from my desperateness to get into law school makes the whole experience abysmal. I freak out unnecessarily (as I often get the last 5 questions wrong on the LR just because I'm afraid of running out of time and end up having to reread when in fact, I had adequate time).

Just wondering if anyone with GAD or OCD had succeeded or is taking the test and have any tips or inspiration?

Manhattan LSAT Noah

Re: How does an overly anxious person get 170+? OCD people?

Postby Manhattan LSAT Noah » Tue Sep 25, 2012 10:42 am

Venturing into waters I don't know very well...

I'd say that OCD could be helpful in that there can be an attention to detail. There are some folks in my family with OCD-like profiles who are very adept at tests. However, anxiety is a different story. I'd say that needs to get handled through a doctor and/or learning to manage that through meditation, exercise, etc.

Overall, the more the test is routinized, the easier it is to avoid freaking out. "Oh, here's an assumption question, let me go find the conclusion. OK, why are they saying that? Hmm, I don't see the gap, but let me work through the answers..." As well as "hmm, I don't see that one, but I'm allowed to get 15 questions wrong, so let me move on and save time."

relevantfactor

Postby relevantfactor » Tue Sep 25, 2012 1:06 pm