October 2012 LSAT possible still? Or postpone to December?

carboncopyx

October 2012 LSAT possible still? Or postpone to December?

Postby carboncopyx » Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:48 am

Hi all,

TLS newbie here and seeking some advice on when I should take the LSAT. Any insight into this process would be greatly appreciated.

About me: senior Economics major, 3.84 GPA, thought I would go into Consulting after college until I did an internship this summer for it and discovered it wasn't for me, now switching paths at the last minute and trying to apply to law school for fall 2013 after I graduate

I just took a diagnostic test cold and scored a 156. My ideal score would be 173+ for consideration at YHSCCN. I have the Logic Reasoning and Logic Games books from Powerscore and am also doing Velocity LSAT prep online right now.

I'm trying to find the right balance between scoring well and applying early enough in the cycle so as not to be disadvantaged by the rolling admissions system. The December LSAT would give me more time to prepare and yield a higher score, but I'd also be submitting my applications later. The October LSAT would allow me to apply once applications are being accepted in November, but at the risk of a lower LSAT score due to only having eight weeks to study for the test.

Thoughts?
Last edited by carboncopyx on Sun Oct 28, 2012 2:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

specialsnowflake

Re: October 2012 LSAT possible still? Or postpone to December?

Postby specialsnowflake » Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:50 am

carboncopyx wrote:Hi all,

TLS newbie here and seeking some advice on when I should take the LSAT. Any insight into this process would be greatly appreciated.

About me: senior Economics major at Yale, 3.84 GPA, thought I would go into Consulting after college until I did an internship this summer for it and discovered it wasn't for me, now switching paths at the last minute and trying to apply to law school for fall 2013 after I graduate