Just starting LSAT prep Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
nooblaw12

New

Just starting LSAT prep

Post by nooblaw12 » Sat Aug 04, 2012 11:24 pm

Hi everyone,

I am just starting my LSAT prep and planning on taking the February LSAT. I've already done a cold diagnostic and received a 146 (room for A LOT of improvement). Other than that, I haven't done anything. Should I start my LSAT prep with a general LSAT book (Kaplan, Princeton Review etc.) and then ease my way into the specific sections through the PowerScore bibles? Or is it better to start strong with a specific section and master each section this way? I'm worried that the PowerScore books won't be as useful to me because I am rather new to the LSAT.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Nova

Platinum

Re: Just starting LSAT prep

Post by Nova » Sat Aug 04, 2012 11:57 pm

IMO, you should read Powerscore/Manhattan cover to cover first. Then drill/pt and reference the guides as necessary.

You are planning to be class of 2017, right?

nooblaw12

New

Post by nooblaw12 » Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:03 am

Yes, class of 2017 is the current plan. Thank you for your reply! Do you think it's necessary to buy both Manhattan and PowerScore? I've heard PowerScore works well for LR and LG and Manhattan for RC. Also, do you think it's better to work on the LSAT section by section (ie read LG bible and work on LG sections) or work on the LSAT as a whole (read all the guides and take entire PTs)?

nooblaw12

New

Post by nooblaw12 » Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:14 am

Also, I want to note that I will be working full-time. Therefore, I will generally only have evenings and weekends available. I'm trying to figure out the best strategy for me to tackle the LSAT.

cc.celina

Silver

Post by cc.celina » Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:24 am