Alright, here's my diagram boxed at the bottom:
You're right, this game does suck (at least it's more time consuming) than originally thought. So I'll run you through step by step.Question 1)
A) Doesn't work because H is in 1 without L, violating the third rule
B) Doesn't work because F is there without J, violating the first rule
C) Doesn't work because neither M or G is there, which means they both have to be in group 2, violating the second rule
D) Is the correct answer
E) Doesn't work because M and G are both there, violating the second ruleQuestion 2)
What do you know? You now know that the [KN] block will be in one group and [FJ] block will be in the other. This also means that H must be in group 2 (since if H is in 1, L is in 1 and there's no room because of the M/G block) AND L must be in group 1 (for the same reason)
A) G could be in 1 or 2 and therefore doesn't HAVE to be true
B) Is the correct answer - H has to be in group 2 for the reason stated above
C) The FJ block and the KN block can be in either group and therefore doesn't HAVE to be true
D) Same reason as previous
E) M could be in 1 or 2 and therefore doesn't HAVE to be trueQuestion 3)
I think this is the hardest question in the game
What do you know? You now have a big block of [FHJ], plus the G/M split block. This means that [KLN] is in the other group. Since variable K is a random, I would keep an eye out for anything it affects. I solved this one with hypotheticals that you can see in the diagram.
A) G can be in either group
B) J must be in group 1, not 2
C) Is the correct answer - the [KLN] block has to go in group 1 because L and H must be separated (because H in 1 would bring L in 1, making you place both M and G in the same group, violating the first rule)
D) L must be in group 1, not 2
E) M can be in either groupQuestion 4)
What do you know? Once again, the resulting [LM] block placed in 2 means that [FJ] will be in the other group 1. Since M is placed in 2 according to the stimulus, we know that G must be in one according to the second rule. This leaves K and N to be placed. Since K is a random and N can be placed in either group, represent this as a split block like so:
Group 1: G F J K/N
Group 2: M L H N/K
In any of these "could be true/could be placed in either group" questions, look for any answer containing one of the split block variables in the fourth slot - in the case, N or K
A) F has to be in group 1
B) G has to be in group 1
C) H has to be in group 2
D) J has to be in group 1
E) Is the correct answerQuestion 5:
Start drawing hypotheticals if nothing is immediately apparent to you.
A) If F and G are in 1, that means J is also in 1. This places M into 2. K can go in either place, and L and H can go in either group as long as you follow rule 3.
B) Is the correct answer. If F and H are both in 1, so is J. Also, according to rule 3, if H is in 1, so is L. This means that M and G would have to go in group 2, violating the second rule.
C) F and L brings J. This means G has to go in 1 (because if G is in 2, N must go in 1, leaving no room for M and pushing M and G together), leaving the second group to be MKHN, which is fine.
D) H and G in 1 brings L, this means that [FJ] is in group 2, as well as M. N and K can go in either group without violating constrains, meaning this one is fine.
E) H and N brings L, this means the [FJ] block is in group 2. K is also in group 2 to leave space, and M and G can go in either group, meaning this one is also fine.Question 6:
Start drawing hypoethicals if nothing is immediately apparent to you. What do we know? We know that if L is in 2, so is H according to the contrapositive of rule 3. This means the [FJ] block has to go in group 1. Once again, expect the random unrestricted variable of K to govern something, so look out for any answer that includes K as a likely contender.
A) If F and M go in 1, G goes in 2. If G is in 2, then N is in 1 in accordance with rule 4. This leaves you with 1: MFJN and 2: GLHK - this is fine.
B) If G and N are in 1, M and K have to go in 2 to leave room for the [FJ] block. This leaves you with 1: GNFJ and 2: MKLH - this is fine
C) If J and N are in 1, we have a scenario where we have 1: M/GFJN and 2: G/MLHK. Looks fine to me.
D) Is the correct answer. If K and M are in 1 and we already know from the above deduction that the [FJ] block is also in 1, this would push G and M together, violating rule 2.
E) If M and N are in 1, this gives us a group of 1: MFJN and 2: GLHK. Once again, perfectly fine.A couple observations:
1) immediately note the binary nature of games like this. It will help with your deductions.
2) this game is SUPER heavy on your understanding of necessary and sufficient conditions. They try and trip you up frequently expecting you to fall for the trap of a mistaken reversal with the rules 3 and 4.
Hope this helps bros. Mods, feel free to edit this or PM me if too specific and I'll delete it.