Mindset shift for LR/RC-CR?

PeanutsNJam

Mindset shift for LR/RC-CR?

Postby PeanutsNJam » Tue Jul 10, 2012 2:08 pm

Hey all, I've been browsing the forums a lot as I prepare for the Oct 2012 LSAT (first time taker, rising senior undergrad student). I just have a question with something that I've been struggling with.

I've done 2 timed logic games sections and gotten -0 (I consistently got all the Kaplan LSAT 180 logic games questions all right after the first few also). I love knowing the answer, and being able to logically prove that the other ones are wrong.

However, as a person shooting for 180, I have to get every question right (or aim to).

Enter LR/RC-CR (comparative reading? supposed to be something new; scared by it).

I can no longer feel certain about all the questions and answer choices. I almost always reduce it down to two answer choices on the ones I'm not sure, and I'm getting upwards of -4 on these sections. What am I doing wrong? I know it's illegal to post questions, but I'll provide an example of two answer choices that got me stumped:

"professional drivers will drive within the legal speed limit if that limit is reduced"
"reducing the speed limit on major highways would cause some professional drivers to break the law"

I just couldn't differentiate between the two. It feels like in LR/RC-CR, it's more "best answer" and less of "absolutely correct answer" as found in logic games.

Also, if I take 20-30 prep tests between now and the test date, am I guaranteed to build up a solid endurance? I swear I have ADD and it gets hard to focus, especially when it's LR-CR-LR.

Thanks for taking the time to read and help out!
Last edited by PeanutsNJam on Tue Jul 10, 2012 3:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Oscar85

Re: Mindset shift for LR/RC-CR?

Postby Oscar85 » Tue Jul 10, 2012 2:13 pm