Should I retake??

Snowscout

Should I retake??

Postby Snowscout » Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:27 am

I just got my scores back from the June LSAT (172), and i am trying to decide whether to retake. Here is some background info:

This was my first time taking the test. I studied using some books and a lot of practice tests but not tutors or classes. I was PTing in the 171-179 range but with a fair amount of inconsistency. My avg. was around 174-175. I am hoping for a T10 school. My GPA is 3.66 from a top private liberal arts school.

Any thoughts??

thanks a lot!

lederhosen

Re: Should I retake??

Postby lederhosen » Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:46 am

Last edited by lederhosen on Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bdeebs

Postby bdeebs » Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:49 am

I am in the same position with the same score. There were some weaknesses in my game plan that I never fully addressed. I was still fairly uncomfortable with RC (felt lucky if I got -1/-2) and was pretty slow on parallel and conditional logic LR questions. I'm going to work them a bit, and if I feel significantly more confident in these areas, I'll retake. If not, then I'll let the score stand and hope for the best.

sabanist

Postby sabanist » Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:55 am

I'm in a similar boat and retaking. 170 with a 4.15 from a large public school... with a serious reputation for grade inflation. :(
I looked at it this way: most people seem to agree that few, if any, schools average. If you get back to the grind and score higher, AWESOME, you seal your chances and maybe get $. If you score lower, you still have a great score to count on.

At the end of the day, will you be happy with yourself if you don't retake? When you submit your applications, will you feel like you did everything you could to earn your spot? Are you okay with leaving your fate up to the admissions committees with what you have now?
For me, the answer was no, so I'm retaking. If it's yes for you, I'm jealous; enjoy your freedom.